360Durango.com - Durango Colorado Entertainment Directory Durango Restaurants Colorado Attractions

What's New on 360Durango.com:

Colorado receives ‘A’ grade for its coronavirus reopening strategy

Colorado receives ‘A’ grade for its coronavirus reopening strategy

Colorado earned a grade of “A” for how its economic reopening is proceeding in the wake of the coronavirus pandemic, according to a ranking by groups that promote economic prosperity.

The grade is based on the leadership of Democratic Gov. Jared Polis, the analysis by the Committee to Unleash Prosperity and FreedomWorks reports. The report assessed the potential damage state actions are doing to the economic well-being of residents and in particular how late reopening dates may cause more severe economic downturns.

The analysis rejects the claim that governors who keep their states closed through stay-at-home orders are truly protecting the well-being of citizens, even as the virus has killed more than 80,000 Americans.

“Even from a public health standpoint, the very negative effects from job loss, poverty, business failure and so on are causing social pathologies to soar – suicides, depression, stress, heart attack, spousal and child abuse cases, drug overdoses, alcohol abuse, financial ruin and deprivation,” the report states.

The number of reported Covid-19 cases and death rates have slowed nationwide, and the overall curve seems to have flattened, the report claims. 


Covid-19 Reopening Grades by Jurisdiction

State / Territory Governor / Mayor Grade
Colorado Jared Polis (D) A
Florida Ron DeSantis (R) A
Georgia Brian Kemp (R) A
Iowa Kim Reynolds (R) A
Nebraska Pete Ricketts (R) A
Oklahoma Kevin Stitt (R) A
South Dakota Kristi Noem (R) A
Tennessee Bill Lee (R) A
Wyoming Mark Gordon (R) A
Alabama Kay Ivey (R) B
Alaska Mike Dunleavy (R) B
Arkansas Asa Hutchinson (R) B
Louisiana John Bel Edwards (D) B
Mississippi Tate Reeves (R) B
Missouri Mike Parson (R) B
Montana Steve Bullock (D) B
North Dakota Doug Burgum (R) B
South Carolina Henry McMaster (R) B
Texas Greg Abbott (R) B
Utah Gary Herbert (R) B
Arizona Doug Ducey (R) C
Idaho Brad Little (R) C
Indiana Eric Holcomb (R) C
Kentucky Andy Beshear (D) C
Massachusetts Charlie Baker (R) C
Minnesota Tim Walz (D) C
Nevada Steve Sisolak (D) C
New Hampshire Chris Sununu (R) C
New York Andrew Cuomo (D) C
Ohio Mike DeWine (R) C
Vermont Phil Scott (R) C
California Gavin Newsom (D) D
Connecticut Ned Lamont (D) D
Delaware John Carney (D) D
Hawaii David Ige (D) D
Illinois J.B. Pritzker (D) D
Kansas Laura Kelly (D) D
Maine Janet Mills (D) D
Maryland Larry Hogan (R) D
Michigan Gretchen Whitmer (D) D
New Mexico Michelle Lujan Grisham (D) D
North Carolina Roy Cooper (D) D
Oregon Kate Brown (D) D
Rhode Island Gina Raimondo (D) D
Washington Jay Inslee (D) D
West Virginia Jim Justice (R) D
District of Columbia Muriel Bowser (D) F
New Jersey Phil Murphy (D) F
Pennsylvania Tom Wolf (D) F
Virginia Ralph Northam (D) F
Wisconsin Tony Evers (D) F

Source: Committee to Unleash Prosperity


« Back

Newest Contests

No contests at this time.